loader image

Cabinet approves parliamentary committee on cases of enforced disappearances

ISLAMABAD: The federal cabinet on Monday constituted a high-level parliamentary committee to look into the cases of enforced disappearances, said a notification issued by interior ministry.

Federal Law Minister Azam Nazeer Tarrar will be the head of the committee that includes Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah, Communication Minister Maulana Asad Mahmood, Benazir Income Support Chairperson Shazia Marri, Asrar Tareen, Maritime Minister Faisal Sabzwari and Agha Hasan Baloch.

The previous Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf government had also formed a committee to investigate the rising number of enforced disappearances in the country. The committee has been formed under the convener ship of Federal Minister for Law and Justice Barrister Farogh Naseem. The members of the committee were the federal law minister, federal minister for human rights, advisor to the prime minister on accountability and interior, Chief Commissioner ICT, IG Islamabad, and representatives of Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) and Intelligence Bureau (IB).

A briefing paper titled “Entrenching Impunity, Denying Redress: The Commission of Inquiry on Enforced Disappearances in Pakistan” issued by the International Commission of Jurists (ICJ) stated that the Commission of Inquiry on Enforced Disappearances (COIED) had failed to address the issue of enforced persons in Pakistan.

The commission was constituted in March 2011 with a mandate to trace the whereabouts of missing persons and fix responsibility on individuals or organizations responsible for the disappearances of such persons.

The commission is headed by Justice (retd) Javed Iqbal.

Courtesy Bol News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.